

Driver and Vehicle Services Update

Bureau of Motor Vehicles – Research and Support Operations Section
P.O. Box 68031, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8031
This bulletin may be downloaded by visiting the Driver and Vehicle Services
website at www.dmv.pa.gov

Tom Wolf, Governor

Leslie S. Richards, Secretary

BULLETIN NO. 19-12 May 2019

SPECIAL EDITION

ACT 89 - Consumer Price Index (CPI) Fee Adjustments Affecting Dealer Registrations

Act 89, which became law on November 25, 2013, amends many sections of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code, Title 75, including adjustments to registration fees effective July 1, 2019. Act 89 represents an investment in Pennsylvania's future: increasing public safety, driving commerce, creating jobs and providing reliable funding for our transportation needs without leaving the bill to our future generations.

Act 89 provides for biennial adjustments to numerous fees based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI). Based on the CPI, effective July 1, 2019, the act amends the following sections of Title 75:

- Section 1926(a): The annual Dealer and Miscellaneous Motor Vehicle Business Dealer registration fees adjust from \$54 to \$56.
- Section 1926(b): The Motorcycle Dealer registration fees adjust from \$27 to \$28.
- Section 1926(c): The Motor-Driven Cycle and Moped Dealer registration fees adjust from \$14 to \$15.

The new fees will appear on registration renewal notices sent to dealers for the above registrations that have a current expiration date of July 2019 or later. PennDOT will begin accepting the new fee on May 11, 2019, for registration renewals listed above that expire July 2019 or later.

Failure to pay the correct fee may result in the application being rejected for insufficient fees.

AGENTS ARE REQUIRED TO ENSURE ALL OF THEIR EMPLOYEES RECEIVE PENNDOT'S DRIVER AND VEHICLE SERVICES UPDATE BULLETINS.