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PennDOT has received questions from agents regarding the rear window decal in connection to the elimination of 
the registration sticker effective 12/31/16. For clarification, the elimination of registration stickers did not impact the 
need to issue a rear window decal. The temporary registration permit must still be provided to customers with the 
issuance of their 90-day temporary registration credential or “pink slip.” At this time, the temporary metal registration 
plate is also issued. Depending on how the application is submitted to PennDOT, there is a delay between when 
the customer is handed his temporary metal registration plate and the time the customer’s record is updated in 
PennDOT’s system. Consequentially, the temporary registration permit and temporary registration credential (pink 
slip) serve as the registrant’s credentials until the temporary metal plate information has been entered into the 
system and the registration card is issued to the registrant. This lets law enforcement know that the registrant’s 
information for the vehicle is not in the system yet. For the customer to have the temporary registration on the 
vehicle, the rear window decal must be displayed in the rear window of the vehicle according to Section 1310.1 of 
Title 75, the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code.  

 
The maximum documentary fee is $118 for processing title work manually and $141 if dealers process online title 
and registration transactions through the online registration program using one of PennDOT’s approved integrators. 

The documentary fee is a non-taxable, negotiable fee. The actual dollar amount may not be pre-printed on the 
buyer’s order. Dealers may exclude this item from their advertised sale price, but if the dealership chooses to 
impose a documentary fee, they must disclose this information with signage in their dealership. Please note this is 
not state-mandated, and is a dealer-imposed charge.  

The documentary fee is adjusted annually in accordance with the Federal Consumer Price Index (CPI). The latest 
CPI adjustment occurred January 12, 2018. If a dealership’s documentary fee exceeds the permissible charge, the 
Attorney General’s Office may consider it to be deceptive, as to what services are being performed, and may find 
it subject to enforcement action. 
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Driver and Vehicle 
Services Update 

Bureau of Motor Vehicles – Research and Support Operations Section 
P.O. Box 68031, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8031 

This bulletin may be downloaded by visiting the Driver and Vehicle Services 
website at www.dmv.pa.gov 

Tom Wolf, Governor  Leslie S. Richards, Secretary 
 

 

    

http://www.legis.state.pa.us/cfdocs/legis/LI/consCheck.cfm?txtType=HTM&ttl=75&div=0&chpt=13&sctn=10&subsctn=1


 

 
This is a reminder of when notarization is required for assignments on certificates of title or salvage certificates and the 
purchaser is immediately applying for a Pennsylvania Certificate of Salvage or Pennsylvania Non-Repairable 
Certificate.  

TYPE OF 
PROOF OF 

OWNERSHIP 

APPLICANT 

Individual / Non-Salvage 
Dealer / Scrap Processor Salvage Dealer Insurance Company 

PA Certificate 
of Title 

• Notarization IS required. 
• Assignment must contain 

purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

• Notarization is NOT required. 
• Assignment must contain 

purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

• Notarization is NOT required. 
• Assignment must contain 

purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

PA Salvage 
Certificate 

• Notarization is NOT required. 
• Assignment must contain 

purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

• Notarization is NOT required. 
• Assignment must contain 

purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

• Notarization is NOT required. 
• Assignment must contain 

purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

Out-of-State 
Certificate of 
Title 

• Notarization: 
 If the proof of ownership 

document indicates 
notarization is needed, 
notarization is required. 

 If the proof of ownership 
document does not indicate 
notarization is needed, and 
the assignment occurred in 
that state, notarization is not 
required. 

 If the proof of ownership 
document does not indicate 
notarization is needed, and 
the assignment occurred in 
Pennsylvania, notarization is 
required. 

• Assignment must contain 
purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

• Notarization: 
 If the proof of ownership 

document indicates 
notarization is needed, 
notarization is required. 

 If the proof of ownership 
document does not indicate 
notarization is needed, and 
the assignment occurred in 
that state, notarization is not 
required. 

 If the proof of ownership 
document does not indicate 
notarization is needed, and 
the assignment occurred in 
Pennsylvania, notarization is 
required. 

• Assignment must contain 
purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

• Notarization: 
 If the proof of ownership 

document indicates 
notarization is needed, 
notarization is required. 

 If the proof of ownership 
document does not indicate 
notarization is needed, and the 
assignment occurred in that 
state, notarization is not 
required. 

 If the proof of ownership 
document does not indicate 
notarization is needed, and the 
assignment occurred in 
Pennsylvania, notarization is 
required. 

• Assignment must contain 
purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

Out-of-State 
Salvage 
Certificate 

• Notarization is NOT required. 
• Assignment must contain 

purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

• Notarization is NOT required. 
• Assignment must contain 

purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

• Notarization is NOT required. 
• Assignment must contain 

purchaser information, signature 
and printed name of purchaser(s) 
and seller(s), the odometer 
reading and notarization. 

PLEASE NOTE: Verification in Lieu of Notarization is acceptable for any motor vehicle application that requires 
notarization. For more information, please refer to the “Verification in Lieu of Notarization Fact Sheet” located on 
our website at www.dmv.pa.gov. 

 

 

NOTARIZATION REQUIREMENTS CLARIFICATION 

AGENTS ARE REQUIRED TO ENSURE ALL THEIR EMPLOYEES RECEIVE PENNDOT’S DRIVER AND 
VEHICLE SERVICES UPDATE BULLETINS 

http://www.dmv.pa.gov/

