
SIGNATURE OF EXAMINER	 DATE BADGE NO. EXAM CENTER

  LAST NAME

  FIRST NAME   MIDDLE NAME

DATE OF BIRTH SEX
 INCHES

JR./ETC

HEIGHT  SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR DRIVER'S LICENSE NUMBER
MONTH

  I HAVE NEVER HELD A PA DRIVER'S LICENSE/PERMIT OR IDENTIFICATION CARD AND I AM APPLYING FOR AN INITIAL IDENTIFICATION CARD. 
		 (You must apply in person at any Driver License Center.)

2. I CURRENTLY HOLD A PA DRIVER'S LICENSE/PERMIT AND AM APPLYING FOR A NON-DRIVER IDENTIFICATION CARD FOR THE FOLLOWING REASON:
I am surrendering my driving privilege for health reasons that may affect my ability to safely operate a motor vehicle. I understand that my license will 	
not be reissued until I successfully complete the appropriate examination. (If you have not already surrendered your Driver's License/ Learner's Permit, 	
please attach it to this application.)
I am voluntarily surrendering my driving privilege with the understanding that it will be retained for a minimum of six months as required by 67 Pa. 
Code 93.2. It is understood that I will not be permitted to apply for my driver's license, Class A through M inclusive, for a period of six months. 		
(Attach Driver's License/ Learner's Permit.) A VOLUNTARY SURRENDER WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED TOWARD A SUSPENSION, RECALL, 		
CANCELLATION, OR REVOCATION.
As a result of my parent's or guardian's withdrawal of consent for me to drive a motor vehicle (Attach Driver's License/Learner's Permit.) 		
PLEASE NOTE: A DL-100A MUST ACCOMPANY THIS APPLICATION.
As a result of the suspension of my driver's license. License MUST be attached. If not, you MUST complete the ACKNOWLEDGEMENT:
I ___________________________________ hereby acknowledge that my driving privilege is suspended/revoked/disqualified in Pennsylvania and my

A.	 License issued by Pennsylvania has expired.
B.	 License issued by Pennsylvania has been:          Lost           Stolen         Mutilated

When?______________________  How?________________________________________________________________________________________
C. License issued by Pennsylvania has been surrendered to or confiscated by the Police/Court.  

When?______________________  What Police Department/County?_______________________________________________________________
D.	 License issued by Pennsylvania has been previously surrendered to PennDOT to serve an existing period of suspension.

When?_____________________________ 	 Why were you suspended?________________________________________________________
  	

EYE COLOR (please check one):      BLUE       BROWN        GREEN        HAZEL       PINK       BLACK       GRAY        DICHROMATIC         OTHER ________________________________

A

CITY STATE ZIP CODEPA

Bureau of Driver Licensing • P.O. Box 68272 • Harrisburg, PA 17106-8272

DL-54A (8-19)

 FEET

Telephone Number (8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.)
DAY YEAR

CHECK APPLICABLE BLOCK BELOW:        FEE INFO.C

(PRINT NAME)

CERTIFICATION (SIGN AND ENTER DATE OF APPLICATION)D

DEPARTMENTAL USE ONLY  ID NUMBER ______________________________________________

I am under the age of 18 years and I hereby request Organ Donor 
designation on my Pennsylvania I.D. Card. Applicants 18 years of age 
or older will have the opportunity to request Organ Donor designation 
on my Pennsylvania I.D. Card.

I hereby certify that I am a      Parent,      Guardian, 
Person in Loco Parentis, or 	   Spouse at least 18 years of age and               

     I:      Do give consent   

         Do NOT give consent for applicant's request for Organ 
             Donor designation.

CURRENT STREET ADDRESS - A Post Office Box number may be used in addition to the actual residence address, but cannot be used as the only address.

$31.50

FREE

$31.50

$31.50

$31.50

$31.50

If this is a change of address and you are a registered voter in PA, would 
you like us to notify your county voter registration office of this change? YES        NO

E

YES        NO

If you are not a registered voter, you may 		
	contact your county voter registration office.

I DESIRE TO HAVE AN IDENTIFICATION CARD ALONG WITH MY CURRENT/EXPIRED PA DRIVER'S LICENSE/PERMIT.

XSIGN
HERE

3.
	

SIGNATURE OF PARENT, GUARDIAN, PERSONS IN LOCO PARENTIS, OR SPOUSE AT LEAST 18 YEARS OF AGE   DATE

        APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE IN INK DATE
XSIGN
HERE XSIGN

HERE
WARNING: Misstatement of Fact is a misdemeanor of the third degree punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and/or 
imprisonment up to 1 year (18 Pa. C, Section 4904 [b]).

I acknowledge that receiving a Pennsylvania Permit, License or ID card will cancel or invalidate any Permit, 
License or ID card from another state. I certify under penalty of law that all information given on this 
application is true and correct. I hereby authorize the Social Security Administration to release to the 
Department of Transportation information concerning my Social Security Identification Number for the 
purpose of identification. If using a Messenger Service, I hereby authorize the Department to furnish 
them with my driving record for the purpose of processing this form.  

 I wish to contribute $3.00 to the Organ Donation Awareness Trust Fund (see reverse).     

I wish to contribute $3.00 to the Veterans' Trust Fund (see reverse).

RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS (LIST TWO)  1. ________________________________________ 2. _________________________________________
VERIFICATION OF BIRTH DATE & IDENTITY      Birth certificate        Other _________________________________________________________

REQUEST FOR ORGAN DONOR DESIGNATION 
PARENTAL CONSENTFor Veterans wishing to add the Veterans Designation to their Driver's License or ID Card:                  

I certify under penalty of law that I am a qualified applicant and hereby request it be added to my         
product. I understand that misrepresentation will result in the cancellation of my identification card.    

APPLICATION FOR INITIAL IDENTIFICATION CARD
ALL SECTIONS MUST BE COMPLETED

1.

TOTAL    $PAID BY:        Debit/Credit Card         Check         Money Order   

Please provide the names and record 
numbers (if known) of all States where you have 
previously been issued a Learner Permit (LP), 
Driver's License (DL), or Identification Card (ID).

STATE	 LP/DL/ID NUMBER	 NAME (if different than above)
______	 __________________________	 ____________________________________________________________________________
______	 __________________________	 ____________________________________________________________________________
______	 __________________________	 ____________________________________________________________________________

PA strongly supports organ and tissue donation because of its life-saving and life-enhancing opportunities       ADD (Parental consent required if under 18)           REMOVE

B Do you hold a current/valid out-of-state driver's license?                                If yes, you must surrender your out-of-state valid license. 

Payable to PennDOT (PennDOT Driver License Centers do not accept cash.)



 Organ Donor Awareness Trust Fund (ODTF): You have the opportunity to contribute $3.00 to the fund. The additional $3.00                
contribution must be added to your payment. You must also check the block provided to ensure proper handling of your contribution. 
The ODTF provides for the development and implementation of donor awareness programs and funds shall be appropriated subject 
to the approval of the Governor. 
Veterans' Trust Fund (VTF): You have the opportunity to make a tax deductible contribution to the VTF. Your contribution will help 
support programs and projects for Pennsylvania veterans and their families. Since this additional $3.00 is not part of the fee, please add 
the donated amount to your payment. Also, please check the proper block on the form to ensure your contribution is handled properly.
The department is required to obtain the Licensee's Social Security number, height and eye color under the provisions of  Sections 
1510(a) and/or 1609(a)(4) of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code. This information will be used as identifying information in an attempt to 
minimize driver license fraud. Federal law permits the use of the Social Security number by state licensing officials for purposes of 
identification.

You must be at least 10 years of age or older to obtain a Pennsylvania Identification Card.
If you are under 18 years of age your parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse who is 18 years of age or older must
accompany you. Proper Identification is required and if the last names are different, verification of relationship is needed. 

DL-54A (8-19)

U.S. CITIZENS - You must bring the Original Social Security Card (card cannot be laminated) AND ONE of the following:
• Birth Certificate with raised seal (U.S. issued by an authorized government agency, including U.S. territories or

Puerto Rico. Non-U.S. Birth Certificates will not be accepted.) No other birth documents will be accepted.
• Certificate of U.S. Citizenship (USCIS Form N-560)
• Certificate of Naturalization (USCIS Form N-550 or N-570)
• Valid U.S. Passport (Only valid U.S. Passports and original documents will be accepted.)
✦  If you have an Out-of-State Driver's License, it must be presented with one of the above forms of identification.

NOTE:  If the name on your original document differs from your current name, you must provide an original Marriage 
Certificate, Divorce Decree, or Court Order document.

NON-U.S. CITIZENS - You must bring all of the following:
• Original USCIS/immigration documents indicating current lawful immigration status
• Valid  Passport, dependent on status
• Social Security Card or SSA ineligibility letter (must be original; card cannot be laminated)

       (Please note: Documents must be original, photo copies will not be accepted.)
 To obtain detailed information regarding "identity/residency requirements," you  can: 

• Visit www.dmv.pa.gov and Enter Search Term "Pub-195NC," and review required documents; or
• Contact us  at  717-412-5300. TTY callers - please dial 711 to reach us.

TO MEET IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS You MUST Present the Following:

Out-of-State Address Change: We may not issue driver license products to an out-of-state address, except in the case of an  
employee of the federal or state government, armed forces personnel, and immediate members of their families, whose workplace 
is located outside of Pennsylvania. If this exception applies to you, please check the appropriate box and include documentation of 
your status with this application. Attach a letter from your employer on their letterhead to document your status, or attach a copy of 
your current Photo ID issued by your employer. If you are the immediate family of a person meeting one of the allowable exceptions, 
attach the documentation of the person employed. Additionally, you must indicate your relationship to that person.
I certify that my workplace is located out-of-state and I am employed by, or am the immediate family of a person employed by:

 US Armed Forces         Federal Government       Pennsylvania State Government
Relationship to person meeting exemption (check one):          Spouse          Dependent Child

SECTION C 
If you check block 1, you must apply in person at a Driver License Center with the identity and residency documents listed below.
If you check block 2 or block 3, you can mail your completed and signed application.

SECTION D
Veterans Designation:  You have the opportunity to add the veterans designation to your identification card, which clearly indicates you are a veteran 
of the United States Armed Forces. To qualify, you must have served in the United States Armed Forces, including a reserve component or the National 
Guard, and have been discharged or released from such service under conditions other than dishonorable. If you are requesting to add the veterans 
designation to your ID card, make sure you check the box at the top in Section D.
NOTE: Driver License Centers do not accept cash or credit cards. You must pay by check or money order.
If mailing your application along with your check or money order (if applicable) made payable to PennDOT, send to the: Bureau of Driver 
Licensing, P.O. Box 68272, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8272.

TO MEET RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS You MUST Present TWO of the Following (for customers 18 years of age or older):
• Lease Agreements   •  Tax Records •  Mortgage Documents • Current Weapons Permit
• Current Utility Bills (water, gas, electric, cable, phone, etc.)   •  W-2 Form 

Note: If you reside with someone, and have no bills in your name, you will still need to provide two proofs of residency. One proof is to 
bring the person with whom you reside along with their Driver's License or Photo ID to the Driver License Center. You will also need to 
provide a second proof of residency such as official mail (bank statement, tax notice, magazine, etc.) that has your name and address 
on it. The address must match that of the person with whom you reside.

(for U. S. Citizens Only)

Visit us at www.dmv.pa.gov or call us at 717-412-5300. TTY callers  -- please dial 711 to reach us
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