|Indiana - PennDOT will partner with more than 300 municipal police departments and Pennsylvania State Police to crack down on impaired drivers this Labor Day holiday. An impaired driving arrest can cost motorists as much as $10,000.|
The costs associated with an impaired driving arrest can vary greatly depending on several factors, including blood-alcohol content, location of arrest, and number of offenses. The effect on a driver's wallet starts the moment they are stopped by police.
- Traffic fine: $300 - $10,000 depending on blood alcohol content and number of offenses
- Towing vehicle: $50 flat fee plus mileage
- Impound: $75 - $175 per day
- Legal fees: $2,000 - $8,000 or more
- Alcohol evaluation: $35 - $100
- Accelerated rehabilitative disposition (ARD): $100 - $1,800
- Education and treatment: $100 - $1,000 or more
- License restoration: $25 non-commercial, $75 commercial
- Insurance premium: increase of about $1,000 a year or cancellation of policy
Apart from the financial aspects of a DUI arrest, there may also be social ramifications. Court appearances, community service requirements or jail time lead to lost time and lost wages
- possibly job loss. A DUI conviction may also hurt job applicants who have to check the box indicating a criminal record. Finally, a driver's family could be embarrassed by the arrest.
The 2007 Labor Day period was the deadliest holiday for alcohol-related crashes on Pennsylvania highways with 175 crashes and 11 fatalities. An additional 287 alcohol-related crashes and 16 fatalities occurred during the weekends before and after the holiday.
PennDOT has budgeted nearly $4 million for alcohol-related enforcement this year. The funding covers 50 task forces, consisting of approximately 500 departments.