Thelr Safety, Your
Responsibility:

A Guide for Health Care Professionals




The public has a right to protection from death, injury or property
loss caused by drivers with medical conditions that impair their
ability to drive safely. Medical reporting plays a vital role in
providing this protection.

Pennsylvania’s health care professionals are required by state law
to report any individuals aged 15 and older to PennDOT who have
medical conditions that impair a person’s ability to drive safely.

Many of Pennsylvania’s 2.1 million older driving adults self-
regulate when they realize health factors are putting themselves
and others at risk. But other drivers with diminished ability get
behind the wheel because they view not being able to drive as the
loss of independence — and that can have a tragic result.

Medical reporting assists PennDOT in determining whether
those individuals who are applying for a driver’s license or those
individuals already possessing a driver’s license are medically
qualified to safely operate a motor vehicle. Without the
cooperation of medical providers, thousands of medically
impaired drivers would remain undetected.

Medical reporting is a very effective mechanism for identifying
medically impaired drivers. Approximately 35,000 new reports
are submitted each year to PennDOT. About 10,000 of these
individuals have medical impairments significant enough to merit
recall of their driving privilege. An additional 21 percent of reports
result in restrictions placed on the individual’s driving privilege.
These reports also cross the age spectrum; half involve drivers
under 65 years of age.



The receipt of a report triggers an evaluation process, which is
performed by PennDOT’s Medical Unit. Upon careful evaluation
of the information received, the Medical Unit will do one of

the following:

Restrictions to the person’s driving privilege may be added
or deleted;
The person’s license may be recalled or restored;

The person may be asked to provide more specific medical
information or complete a drivers examination; or

No action may be taken.

Although certain health care personnel have a legal responsibility
to report, and PennDOT may request further medical information,
ultimately it is PennDOT, not the health care personnel, that
determines if a license should be recalled or restored. The
Commonwealth has the option of placing restrictions on driving
and the patient may also be asked to have an additional medical
evaluation or driver’s test.




PennDOT has a Medical Advisory Board (MAB) responsible for the
formulation and revision of physical and mental criteria, including
vision standards, for the licensing of drivers. The MAB consists of
a neurologist, a cardiologist, an internist, a general practitioner,

an ophthalmologist, a psychiatrist, an orthopedic surgeon, an
optometrist, and members from PennDOT, Department of Health,
Department of Drug and Alcohol, and the Pennsylvania State
Police.

The formulation and revision of these regulations is open for
public review and comment through the Commonwealth’s
Regulatory Review process. Medical regulations pertaining to
driver qualifications can be found online at www.pacode.com,
and specifically in Title 67, Chapter 83, Physical and Mental
Criteria, Including Vision Standards Relating to the Licensing
of Drivers.
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The following is a broad overview of requirements and disqualifying
conditions. Specific guidelines can be found in the regulations.

Several conditions require the individual to remain episode free
for a specific term before he/she is eligible to have the driving
privilege restored. Other conditions cause an indefinite recall of
the driving privilege until the condition has improved to the point
where the treating health care provider indicates that the patient
can safely operate a motor vehicle.

Drivers must meet minimum visual acuity and field of vision
requirements with or without correction.

A low vision restricted license is available to drivers who meet
certain visual acuity requirements. Please note that this type
of license will only be issued upon the recommendation of a
licensed optometrist, ophthalmologist, or physician who has
the equipment to properly evaluate acuity.

A person with a seizure disorder must be seizure-free for a
specified period of time in order to maintain their driving privilege.
Waivers are available upon recommendation of a licensed health
care provider under certain circumstances.

Unstable or brittle diabetes or hypoglycemia.

Cerebral vascular insufficiency or cardiovascular disease
that resulted in:

Syncopal attack or loss of consciousness.
Vertigo, paralysis or loss of qualifying visual fields.

Periodic episodes of loss of consciousness of unknown
etiology or not otherwise categorized.



Loss of a joint or extremity as a functional defect
or limitation.

Impairment of the use of a joint or extremity as a functional
defect or limitation:

The provider should inform the patient of the prohibition
against driving due to the functional impairment.

The provider should inform the Department in writing of
the impairment if the condition has lasted or is expected
to last longer than 90 days.

Rheumatic, arthritic, orthopedic, muscular, vascular or
neuromuscular disease:

The provider should inform the patient of the prohibition
against driving due to the functional impairment.

The provider shall inform the Department in writing
of the impairment if the condition has lasted or is expected
to last longer than 90 days.

Cerebral vascular insufficiency or cardiovascular disease
which, within the last 6 months, has resulted in lack of
coordination, confusion, loss of awareness, dyspnea upon
mild exertion, or any other symptom that impairs the ability
to drive safely.

Mental disorder.

Periodic episodes of loss of attention or awareness which
are of unknown etiology or not otherwise categorized.

Use of any drug or substance, including alcohol, known to
impair skill or functions, regardless if medically prescribed.

Other conditions which, in the opinion of a provider, is
likely to impair the ability to control and safely operate
a motor vehicle.



If you feel that a patient is medically qualified but you are uncertain
if he/she is physically able to drive safely, you may note on the
medical form that “medically” they meet the minimum standards;
however, you want them to pass a driver’s test before they are
cleared to drive.

This comment lets PennDOT know it’s safe to put a driver’s license
examiner in a vehicle with this individual and also gives you, the
health care provider, the assurance that they will not be cleared
unless they demonstrate the necessary skills.

Based upon your report and subsequent evaluation, PennDOT may
determine that a driver must be restricted to driving only when
utilizing appropriate adaptive equipment, such as hand controls,
left foot gas pedal or spinner knob, in order to safely operate a
vehicle.

For instances where you are unsure if a driver needs adaptive
equipment, you may refer the driver to a rehabilitation center for
a driving evaluation.

There are Driver Rehabilitation Specialists located throughout

the country and across the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania. For
more information and a listing of Driver Rehabilitation Specialists,
please visit



Performing Due Diligence While
Protecting Confidentiality

PennDOT’s Medical Reporting Program is designed both to protect
the anonymity of the health care provider making the report and
also to respect patient confidentiality.

Confidentiality of Reports

Reports submitted to PennDOT are confidential and used solely
to determine the qualification of an individual to drive a motor
vehicle. PennDOT is compelled by law to honor this provision
and will not release information regarding the source or content
of the report, even when the inquiry is from the patient who was
reported. The only time this information would be released is
during a court proceeding, where the driver is challenging a recall
or suspension of their driving privilege.




Helping Patients Cope with
Driving Limitations

No other options are as effective as medical reporting in
identifying drivers who can no longer operate a vehicle safely.

Some states have statutory requirements for self-reporting, but
research indicates an extremely high rate of noncompliance.

Research shows that older drivers prefer to discuss concerns
about their driving with their health care provider. Providers
should recognize the emotional issues for their patients who are
facing the possibility of restricting or stopping driving altogether.
You can encourage patients and family members to address their
medical issues, improve their driving skills and think about
developing alternative mobility plans.

Other brochures in PennDOT’s Seniors Driving Safely Series,
“Older, Wiser, Safer: A Senior Driver’s Guide,” “Keeping Older
Drivers Safe: A Guide for Family and Friends,” and “Staying Safe:
What to Expect When Your Medical Condition Has Been Reported
to PennDOT,” provide helpful information and tips. Additional
resources are listed at the end of this guide.



All physicians, chiropractors, physician assistants, certified
registered nurse practitioners and other persons authorized to
diagnose or treat disorders and disabilities are required to report
within 10 days, in writing, the full name, address and date of
birth of every person diagnosed as having a condition that could
impair his/her ability to drive a motor vehicle safely. It is helpful
to PennDOT in making a licensing determination if you include
the conditions and any specific information about the condition.
The report may be made by writing a letter or by using PennDOT’s
condition-specific medical form(s) or PennDOT'’s Initial Reporting
Form (DL-13).

If you have online access to PennDOT’s condition-specific medical
forms, you may use the applicable form(s) as an initial report. If
you do not currently have online access to the medical forms, but
are interested in obtaining access, visit the Medical Reporting
Information Center on PennDOT’s Driver and Vehicle Services
website, , to register.

Go to Information Centers and click on “Medical Reporting.”
You will be taken to the Medical Reporting Information Center.
Here you will find more information on reporting requirements,
as well as information on filling out and submitting Medical
Reporting Forms.

You can also reach the Medical Unit by phone at 717-787-9662,
Monday-Friday during regular business hours.

The address is:

Bureau of Driver Licensing
Driver Qualifications Section
P.O. Box 68682

Harrisburg, PA 17106-8682



When you report, you are exempt from any civil or criminal
liability. No action may be brought against any person or agency
for providing the required information. However, if you DO NOT
report, there is a possibility that you could be held responsible
as a proximate cause of an accident resulting in death, injury or
property loss caused by your patient. Also, providers who do not
comply with their legal requirement to report may be convicted
of a summary criminal offense.

Aslong as you notify the patient that you are instructing them

to restrict or halt their driving, and you have it documented in the
patient’s file, the Pennsylvania Courts have determined that you
shouldn’t be held responsible if he/she continues to drive and is
involved in a crash. (That does not mean, however, that you can’t
be named in a law suit.)

This is the case with any condition you report to PennDOT. Always
notify your patient if there are any restrictions or prohibitions to
driving. Remember to document your instructions to the patient
in his/her file.

If you become aware of a patient not following your instructions
to refrain from driving or not following your prescribed treatment
plan, please notify the Medical Unit. Although they can’t provide
any details back to you, they can research the case to determine

if the patient is medically qualified to drive. In some cases when a
driver files an appeal of their license recall or suspension, a judge
will order a supersedeas, which allows the driver to continue to
drive legally until their case is heard. If the driver is not medically
qualified, PennDOT can notify law enforcement for their assistance
in getting the medically unqualified driver off the road.



Mature Driver

Improvement Courses

Under PA law individuals may be entitled to at least a 5 percent
discount on their entire automobile insurance policy if they are

55 or older and successfully complete a driver improvement course
approved by PennDOT. Those interested should check with their
insurance carrier for the specifics of their program.

There are four state-approved courses that are held at various
locations throughout the commonwealth as well as online
including AAA, AARP, Seniors for Safe Driving, and Safe2Drive.
(Please see the following contact information below.)

All approved courses specifically address the safety needs of
the mature driver. There are no written or practical driving tests
required. The course fees are moderate, but vary with each
organization.

American Association o
of Retired Persons (AARP) —
1-888-227-7669 (1-800-AARP-NOW)

30 North 3rd Street, Suite 750
Harrisburg, PA 17101

www.aarpdriversafety.org

AARP’s Driver Safety website includes information on courses,
auto insurance discounts, adapting automobiles, new technology
as well as online seminars.
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American Automobile Association (AAA)
1-800-723-7021 | Locations Nationwide

WWWw.aaa.com

AAA offers multiple online resources for mature drivers — find your
local AAA office to check on mature driver improvement course
availability in your area.

www.seniordriving.aaa.com

Visit this AAA website to find mature driver evaluation tools, ways
to improve on essential driving skills and tips for maintaining
mobility and independence longer.

www.aaafoundation.org/senior-drivers

Discover more AAA information on topics affecting safety such as
automobile technologies as well as self-assessments to screen for
potential driving risk factors.

. .. of Sa
Seniors For Safe Driving {,(’ f@o
1-800-559-4880 2R Z
www.seniorsforsafedriving.com i \'4 ‘|
. ®
Mature drivers can find one or two-day classes N B

at a location near them or online.

Safe2Drive ——— _—
www.safe2drive.com
Here mature drivers can choose from either a Basic Course or

a Refresher Course where, once completed, they will receive a
Certificate of Completion when they pass a final exam.
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More Safety Resources

for Senior Drivers

Pennsylvania Department
of Transportation (PennDOT)
717-412-5300 - 1101 S. Front Street « Harrisburg, PA 17104

pennsylvania

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

www.penndot.gov/safety

The Traffic Safety and Driver Topics section of this website
contains an array of information pertaining to safely operating a
motor vehicle.

www.dmv.pa.gov/Driver-Services/Mature-Drivers

The Mature Driver section of PennDOT’s website offers resources
for drivers including safety tips, improvement courses and licensing
laws as well as information for the health care community and
medical reporting tools.

National Highway Traffic Safety Jook ok kok

Administration (NHTSA) NHTSA

1-888-327-4236

www.nhtsa.gov

www.nhtsa.gov/Driving+Safety/Older+Drivers

NHTSA offers guides, research reports and toolkits for mature
drivers and those around them, including family and friends,
medical professionals and law enforcement officers.

Pennsylvania Department of Aging m pennsylvania

(PD A) DEPARTMENT OF AGING
717-783-1550 * 555 Walnut Street, 5th FL. - Harrisburg, PA 17101

WWww.aging.pa.gov/aging-services/transportation

The Aging Services/ Transportation section of this website
provides details on the PA Free Transit Program for individuals
65+, the Shared Ride Program, and also offers additional resources
and links.
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CARFiT®

Helping Mature Drivers Find Their Safest Fit
CarFit is an educational program that offers older adults the opportunity
to check how well their personal vehicles “fit” them.

The CarFit program also provides information and materials on
community- specific resources that could enhance their safety as drivers,
and/or increase their mobility in the community.

Driver Rehabilitation Specialists work with
people of all ages and abilities, exploring "‘1-\ /) A D E D
alternative transportation solutions for " The Association for Driver

Rehabilitation Specialists

drivers with special needs or who may need

to use special equipment to continue to drive. This includes helping
older drivers and their families master the challenges of diminishing
driving skills. Please visit www.aded.net and click on Directory &
Services, then click on DRS or CDRS Provider Search.

This program assists citizens in the “golden hour” of
emergency care following a traffic accident when they may not

be able to communicate their needs themselves. Placing a Yellow Dot
decal in your vehicle’s rear window alerts first responders to check
your glove compartment for vital information to ensure you receive
the medical attention you need. The program is a cooperative effort
between PennDOT, the Department of Health and Aging, the State
Police, the Turnpike Commission, first responders and local law
enforcement.

The Emergency Contact Information Program was \ ’
developed to allow your emergency contact

. R . A Upload Emergency
information to be quickly available to law Contact Information
enforcement through a secure online database. Just

visit and click on the icon you see to the right to

use your Pennsylvania Driver’s License or ID information to enter
emergency contacts to speak for you if ever you can’t speak for yourself.
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Other Brochuresin the

Seniors Driving Safely Series

The publication you are reading is part of PennDOT’s Seniors
Driving Safely Series, developed for mature drivers and others
who help to care for them. Brochures in the series include:

Older, Wiser, Safer: A Senior Driver’s Guide provides tips for
dealing with various driving situations and staying safe on the
road, as well as self-tests to help seniors evaluate their driving
readiness.

Keeping Older Drivers Safe: A Guide for Family and Friends
helps adult children and other loved ones understand when and
how to get involved in an older person’s decisions about driving.

Staying Safe: What to Expect When Your Medical Condition
Has Been Reported to PennDOT was developed to help seniors
understand how the medical reporting process works in
Pennsylvania.

PennDOT encourages you as a health care provider to refer your
patients and their family members to these publications for more
information and support. They can be downloaded by visiting
www.dmv.pa.gov. Under the “Driver Services” tab, click on
“Mature Drivers”.

Helping Older
Drivers Stay Safe:
A Guide for Family & Friends

Older, Wiser, Safer:

A Senior Driver’s Guide










About PennDOT and our
Seniors Driving Safely Series

PennDOT oversees a breadth of programs and policies that ensure
that the movement of people and goods within the state is safe,
reliable, and efficient. We oversee an ongoing investment in the

integrity of Pennsylvania’s highway and bridge infrastructure.
PennDOT is directly responsible for nearly 40,000 miles of high-

way and roughly 25,000 bridges. We also administer the state’s
more than 11 million vehicle registrations and 8.9 million driver’s

licenses and oversee safety and emission inspection programs.

While PennDOT strives to set the standard for an organized
transportation structure and maintain a reliable infrastructure
throughout Pennsylvania, our mission cannot be completed
without the compliance and cooperation of those who utilize
and operate within our state’s roadways and multimodal systems.
Our Seniors Driving Safely Series is one facet of our effort to help
educate, guide, remind, assist, and protect all Pennsylvanians in
getting wherever they need to go — safely.
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