DL-59 (7-23)

pennsylvania DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION

APPLICATION FOR CHANGE FROM A JUNIOR DRIVER'S LICENSE TO A REGULAR NON-COMMERCIAL LICENSE

Bureau of Driver Licensing • P.O. Box 68272 • Harrisburg, PA 17106-8272

	CHE			_OPTION [∕] _OPTION 2	1: Free U 2: Replac	pdate Car ement Lic	d to be carried v ense. Form mu s	vith your Juni st be notarize	or Drive d (SEE	er's License. E REVERSE	Form must FOR FEES	be notarized	
A		BLOCK: OPTION 2: Replacement License. Form must be notarized (SEE REVERSE FO DRIVER INFORMATION Type or Print All Information										/	
	DRIVEF	'S LICENSE	NUMBER	LAST NA	ME							JR./ETC	
	_												
	FIRST	IAME		•			MIDDLE NAME						
				•									
	MONTI	DATE OF BIRTH TELEPHONE NUMBER (8:00A.M 4:30P.M.) MONTH DAY YEAR) E-MAIL ADDRESS (if applicable)						
	Penns	ylvania stro	ongly supports o	rgan and tissue	donation be	cause of its l	ife-saving and life-enl	fe-saving and life-enhancing opportunies. ADD (Parental consent required if under 18)					
В		DRESS CHANGE - A Post Office Box number may be used in addition to the actual residence address, but cannot be used as the only address. See reverse if using an out-of-state address.											
	ADDRE												
	СІТҮ	I									ZIP CODE		
		This application will also serve as a request to update your voter registration unless you check this box:											
~		f you are not registered to vote, you will receive an application to register. You <u>must be a U.S. citizen</u> to register to vote in Pennsylvania.											
C	-	LIGIBILITY ASSESSMENT . Have you successfully completed a Driver's Training Course(s) consisting of 30 hours of classroom theory Yes If yes, Section E must be completed											
							nents of Education a				are not eligibl		
	2. Hav	2. Have you held your current Pennsylvania Junior Driver's License for at least 1 year?							Ļ] Yes No <i>If no</i> , vou	are not eligibl	le to anniv.	
	3 Hav		boon involved i	n a crash in wi		ro partially o	r fully responsible du	ring the nest 1 ve		No If no, you are not eligible to apply. Yes If yes, you are not eligible to apply.			
		•				· · ·		nny ne past i ye		No			
	4. Hav	e you beer	n convicted of a	ny violation of t	the Vehicle	Code during	the past 1 year?		L	_ Yes <i>If yes, ye</i> No	ou are not eligi	ble to apply.	
n							's License or ID Card		nalty of la	uw that I am a qua	alified applicant a	nd hereby request	
	l la	cknowledg	e that receivin	α a Pennsvlva	nia Permit.	License or	n the cancellation of m ID card will cancel of	or invalidate anv	Permit,	rmit, License or ID card from another state. I certify hat I have received notice of the provisions of Section			
	un 37	der penalty 09 of the V	of law that the ehicle Code (se	information col e reverse for pi	ntained here	ein is true and	d correct. I hereby ac senger Service, I her	knowledge this d	ay that I	have received no	otice of the prov	isions of Section	
	purpose of processing this form.								INSTRUCTIONS				
	۱w	ish to cont	ribute \$5.00 to t					X Y			INSTRUCTIONS Card retain your cur		
		GN RE									icense. When your application is processed, an Update Card will be ssued which, upon receipt, should be carried with your Junior License.		
	WA	APPLIC RNING: Missta	CANT'S SIGNATU atement of Fact is a mi	RE IN INK (AS II sdemeanor of the th	N SECTION A ird degree punis	ι) hable by a fine of	DATE up to \$2,500 and/or imprisor	ment up to 1 year (18 P	a. C, Sectior	n 4904 [b]).		I	
	PAID		Debit/Credit C			oney Order	r Payable	to PennDOT (Penn accept cash.)			TOTAL \$		
E	APPF					-					1		
_					cessfully co	mpleted an A	Approved Driver Trai	ning Course in m	y school	consisting of (ch	neck appropriate	e box[es]):	
			lassroom theory				ours of behind-the-whe						
	(NAME OF THE APPROVED SCHOOL DISTRICT, PRIVATE DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOL OR OTHER APPROVED SCHOOL) (COUNTY OF SCHOOL) (SCHOOL YEAR OF DRIVER EDUCATION) (SIGNATURE OF SCHOOL OFFICIAL) 30 hours of classroom theory only: Check if the student completed an approved driver training classroom theory course with anot List the name of the school, county where the school is located and attach a copy of your Certificate of Completion from that school.												
										E OF SCHOOL OFFICI	AL)		
										nother school.			
		(NAME OF THE APPROVED SCHOOL DISTRICT, PRIVATE DRIVER TRAINING SCHOOL OR OTHER APPROVED SCHOOL) (SCHOOL YEAR OF DRIVER EDUCATION) (COUNTY OF SCHOOL)											
-	,						R APPROVED SCHOOL) (S	CHOOL YEAR OF DRIV	ER EDUCAT	10N) (C	OUNTY OF SCHOOL)		
Г	AFFID	AVII OF 0	CONSENT - TH		JSI BE NO	IARIZED	L h a na h y a a mtife y	hat I and the an					
SUBSCRIBED AND I hereby certify that I am the applicant's													
	SWOR	SWORN TO BEFORE ME MO. DAY YEAR						☐ PARENT ☐ GUARDIAN					
	SIGNATURE OF PERSON ADMINISTERING OATH								B years of age. The applicant has held a valid PA Junior Driver's				
	License for 1 year and this application is made with my full consent.												
	S						SIGN						
	E	SI	GN IN PRE	SENCE O	F NOTA	RY		HERE (SIGNATURE OF PARENT, GUARDIAN OR PERSON IN LOCO PARENTIS OR SPOUSE AT LEAST 18 YEARS OF AGE)					
	A						IN INK						
	╽┖│						(PRINT NAME AS IT APPEARS IN SIGNATURE ABOVE)						

DL-59 (7-23)

The most current version of this form can be found at: www.dmv.pa.gov

COMPLETE ALL of Sections A, C, D, E, and F. Complete Section B only if you are changing information.

OUT-OF-STATE ADDRESS CHANGE. We may not issue driver license products to an out-of-state address, except in the case of an employee of federal or state government, armed forces personnel, or their families, whose workplace is located outside of Pennsylvania. If this exception applies to you, please check the appropriate box and include documentation of your status with this application.
Attach a letter from your employer on their letterhead to document your status, or attach a copy of your current Photo ID issued by your employer. If you are the immediate family of a person meeting one of the allowable exceptions, attach the documentation of the person employed. Additionally, you must indicate your relationship to that person.
I certify that my workplace is located out of state and I am employed by, or am the immediate family of a person employed by:
🗌 US Armed Forces 🔄 Federal Government 🔄 Pennsylvania State Government
Relationship to person meeting exemption (check one): 🗌 Spouse 📄 Dependent Child

THIS FORM MUST BE NOTARIZED IN SECTION F

Veterans Designation: You have the opportunity to add the veterans designation to your driver's license, which clearly indicates you are a veteran of the United States Armed Forces. To qualify, you must have served in the United States Armed Forces, including a reserve component or the National Guard, and have been discharged or released from such service under conditions other than dishonorable. If you are requesting to add the veterans designation to your license, make sure you check the box at the top in Section D.

*FEE: \$40.50 - The Bureau will issue a Regular Non-Commercial Photo Driver's License.

\$46.50 - Regular Non-Commercial Photo Driver's License with Class M.

NO FEE: Free Update Card to carry with your Junior Driver's License.

To obtain an unrestricted license before you are 18 years of age, you MUST:

- Hold your valid Pennsylvania Driver's License for 1 year from issue date;
 - Maintain a crash and conviction free record for the past 1 year; and
 - Complete an approved driver's education course. If necessary, attach a certificate of completion as listed in Section E.

You are automatically a Regular License holder when you turn 18 years of age.

- In order to be eligible for a regular license, you must have held your PA junior license for 1 year. If you are unsure when you passed the driving test, it should show on your junior license as the "Issued" date. (If you have a duplicate license, the "Issued" date does not reflect the day you passed your testing.)
- Since you were required to wait at least six months before you could take your driving test, and you are also required to have held your PA junior license privileges for at least 1 year, you are not eligible for a regular license if you are less than 17 1/2 years of age.
- This form requires 3 signatures:
 - 1. The junior license holder signs as the applicant in Section D.
 - A school official certifying completion of an Approved Driver Training Course signs in Section E. A current listing of acceptable. Approved Driver Education Course providers can be found online at the following website: www.pde.state.pa.us, and enter keyword "Approved Driver Education".
 - 3. The junior license holder's parent, guardian, person in loco parentis, or spouse at least 18 years of age signs in Section F. The signature must be notarized in Section F.

Return your completed and signed application to:

"PennDOT", The Bureau of Driver Licensing, P.O. Box 68272, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8272

Organ Donation Awareness Trust Fund (ODTF): You have the opportunity to contribute \$3.00 to the Fund. The additional \$3.00 contribution must be added to your payment. You must also check the block provided to ensure proper handling of your contribution. The ODTF provides for the development and implementation of donor awareness programs and funds shall be appropriated subject to the approval of the Governor.

Veterans' Trust Fund (VTF): You have the opportunity to make a tax deductible contribution to the VTF. Your contribution will help support programs and projects for Pennsylvania veterans and their families. Since this additional \$5.00 is not part of the fee, please add the donated amount to your payment. Also, please check the proper block on the form to ensure your contribution is handled properly.

PennDOT is required to obtain the Licensee's height and eye color under the provisions of Section 1510(a) of the Pennsylvania Vehicle Code. This information will be used as identifying information in an attempt to minimize driver license fraud.

Change your address or renew your driver's license online at www.dmv.pa.gov

Section 3709A provides for a fine of up to \$300 for dropping, throwing or depositing, upon any highway, or upon any other public or private property without the consent of the owner thereof or into or on the waters of this Commonwealth, from a vehicle, any waste paper, sweepings, ashes, household waste, glass, metal, refuse or rubbish or any dangerous or detrimental substance, or permitting any of the preceding without immediately removing such items or causing their removal.

For any violation of Section 3709, I may be subject to a fine of up to \$300 upon conviction, including any violation resulting from the conduct of any other persons present within any vehicle of which I am the driver.

"LICENSE FRAUD IS A SERIOUS CRIME"

FRAUDULENTLY ALTERING, EXHIBITING OR LOANING YOUR LICENSE IS A SERIOUS CRIME. VIOLATORS ARE SUBJECT TO PROSECUTION AND CANCELLATION OF THEIR DRIVER'S LICENSES.