
APPLICANT'S SIGNATURE IN INK

LICENSE NUMBERDATE OF BIRTH (must be listed)
Month

HAVE YOU CHANGED YOUR NAME? LIST THE NAME(S) YOU HAVE USED IN THE PAST.

DRIVER INFORMATION (Please Type or Print All Information) 

VEHICLE INFORMATION (maximum of five vehicles)

	 Insurance	Company	Name	 Policy	Number	 Effective	Date	 Expiration	Date
VEHICLE INSURANCE INFORMATION

ACKNOWLEDGMENT
❏  For Veterans wishing to add the Veterans Designation to their Driver's License or ID Card: I certify under penalty of law that I am a 

qualified applicant and hereby request it be added to my product. I understand that misrepresentation will result in the cancellation of my 
driver's license.  

❏		 I	used	a	Messenger	Service	to	assist	me	in	completing	this	form.	I	authorize	the	Department	to	give	this	Messenger	Service	my		 
driving	record	information.

❏	 I	wish	to	voluntarily	contribute	$3.00	to	the	Organ	Donation	Awareness	Trust	Fund	(see	instructions).
❏	 I	wish	to	contribute	$5.00	to	the	Veterans'	Trust	Fund	(see	instructions).
I acknowledge that receiving a Pennsylvania Permit, License or ID card will cancel or invalidate any Permit, License or ID card from  
another state. I certify under penalty of law that all information given on this Petition is true and correct. I understand that the $38.00 Petition fee is  
non-refundable. I confirm that I have received notice of the provisions of Section 3709 of the Vehicle Code.

*Note: This petition must be mailed to the address listed on this form and will not be accepted or processed at any PennDOT Driver Licensing Center.
WARNING: Misstatement of fact is a misdemeanor of the third degree punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and/or imprisonment up to one year (18 PA C.S., Section 4904[b]).

DATE

D

FIRST NAME MIDDLE NAMEJR., ETC.LAST NAME

 Year Make Model License Plate Number State

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.

1.
2.
3.
4.
5.

NOTE: All vehicles you will drive must have a valid registration and insurance. Proof of Insurance must be sent for all vehicles listed above.

TELEPHONE	NUMBER			(BETWEEN	8:00	A.M.	-	4:30	

This application will also serve as a request to update your voter registration unless you check this box: ❏
If you are not registered to vote, you will receive an application to register. You must be a U.S. citizen to register to vote in Pennsylvania.

ADDRESS CHANGE: A	Post	Office	Box	number	may	be	used	in	addition	to	the	actual	residence	address,	but	cannot	be	used	as	the	only	address.	
NEW STREET ADDRESS       CITY
    

REASON FOR NAME CHANGE:   ❏ MARRIAGE  ❏ DIVORCE  ❏OTHER   (see Instructions)

A

C

DL-20 (7-23)

Bureau	of	Driver	Licensing	•	P.O.	Box	68689	•	Harrisburg,	PA	17106-8689

PROBATIONARY LICENSE (PL) PETITION

Day Year

ZIP CODESTATE

B

OUT-OF-STATE ADDRESS CHANGE. Driver license products cannot be issued to an out-of-state address, except in the case of an employee of 
federal or state government, armed forces personnel, or their families, whose workplace is located outside of Pennsylvania. If this exception 
applies to you, please check the appropriate box and include documentation of your status with this application.
I certify that my workplace is located out- of-state and I am employed by, or am the immediate family of a person employed by:

❏US Armed Forces     ❏Federal Government     ❏PA State Employment     Relationship to person meeting exemption (check one):  ❏Spouse   ❏Dependent Child

Hours Requested Outside of Standard (6AM to 7PM): _____:_____ to _____:_____
Note: please provide a letter from your employer and or school administrator with information regarding the needed hours. Be sure to indicate AM 
and PM times.

Please review all the following pages for instructions completing this petition.



PROBATIONARY LICENSE INSTRUCTIONS AND PETITION
WHAT IS A PROBATIONARY LICENSE?
A	Probationary	License	(PL)	is	a	Class	C	(Non-Commercial)	driver's	license	issued	to	an	individual	whose	Pennsylvania	
driving	privilege	has	been	suspended	or	 revoked	 for	five	or	more	years.	A	PL	authorizes	driving	a	non-commercial	
vehicle	 between	 6:00	 a.m.	 and	 7:00	 p.m.	 The	Department	 will	 consider	 additional	 hours	 upon	 request.	 Under	 no	 
circumstances	will	a	PL	be	given	to	drive	a	commercial	vehicle,	motorcycle	or	moped.
To	 assist	 potential	 applicants	 a	 Probationary	 License	 Fact	 Sheet	 can	 be	 used	 and	 you	 may	 obtain	 a	 copy	 from																	
our	 website	 (http://www.dot.state.pa.us/Public/DVSPubsForms/BDL/BDL%20Fact%20Sheets/fs-PL.pdf).	 Certain	 
violations	and	offenses	make	you	ineligible	for	an	PL	and	are	outlined	on	the	PL	Fact	Sheet.	Once	you	decide	to	apply	
you	must	follow	the	instructions	on	this	form	ensure	its	proper	completion.
If	 you	 are	 not	 licensed	 to	 drive	 in	 this	 or	 any	 other	 state,	 you	 must	 apply	 for	 a	 class	 C	 Probationary	 learner’s	 
permit.	Thirty	days	after	 the	 issuance	of	 the	 learner’s	permit	you	will	be	eligible	 to	 test	 for	a	driver’s	 license.	Upon	 
successfully	passing	all	exams,	the	Department	will	issue	a	PL.	All	restoration	requirements	must	be	completed.
If	your	driving	privilege	is	revoked,	you	will	be	required	to	take	a	driver	road	test	before	the	Probationary	License	can	be issued.
If	your	driving	record	requires	an	Ignition	Interlock	certification,	then	you	will	be	required	to	have	the	device	installed	
in	your	vehicle	for	the	first	year	that	you	hold	a	PL.
In	order	for	the	Department	to	evaluate	whether	or	not	you	are	eligible	for	a	PL.	You	must	complete	the	Probationary	
License	Petition	(DL-20)	and	send	it	with	your	check	or	money	order,	proof	of	 insurance(s),	and	any	other	required	
documentation by certified mail to the address listed on the form.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE PETITION
Carefully	read	and	follow	the	instructions	below	to	complete	the	attached	Probationary	License	Petition.	The	Petition	
must	be	complete	and	accurate	for	your	request	to	be	considered.	Attach	additional	sheets	of	paper	if	needed.	Once	
completed,	you	must	send	your	petition	by	certified	mail.

1.	 SECTION A	-	Fill	in	all	blocks.	If	you	do	not	know	your	license	number	or	expiration	date,	please	leave	those	blocks	
blank.	Provide	a	daytime	telephone	number	(between	8:00	a.m.	and	4:30	p.m.,	Monday	through	Friday)	where	the	
Department	can	reach	you,	if	necessary,	to	get	additional	information	to	process	your	Petition.

2. SECTION B	-	Name Change	-	If	you	desire	to	use	your	birth	name,	you	must	present	your	state	issued	birth	
certificate	with	a	raised	seal.	If	your	name	changed	by	permission	of	court,	you	must	present	a	Certified	Copy	of	
the	Court	Order.	If	you	desire	to	use	your	spouse's	surname,	you	must	present	your	marriage	certificate.	If	you	
desire to use another name, you must present your Social Security Card, together with two other sources issued 
in	the	desired	name	such	as:	Tax	Records,	Selective	Service	Card,	Voter	Registration	Card,	Passport,	any	form	
of	Photo	I.D.	issued	by	a	governmental	agency,	banking	records,	or	baptismal	certificate.	
To report errors on your driver’s license relating to name, date of birth or social security number, please 
contact PennDOT’s Customer Care Center at 717-412-5300.  
If you are required to present supporting documentation to correct your record, all documents must be 
originals and presented in person at a PennDOT Driver License Center.
· For NAME corrections, you must present your state issued birth certificate with a raised seal, a Certified 

Copy of the Court Order or your marriage certificate.  
· For DATE OF BIRTH corrections, you must present state issued birth certificate with raised seal.
·  For SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER corrections, you must present your Social Security Card.

 *Note: All name changes must be made in person at a Driver License Center. All documents must be original.
3.	 SECTION C	 -	List	all	 vehicles	 (including	 rental	 vehicles)	 that	you	will	drive.	You	can	only	 list	 five	 (5)	vehicles.	

For	each	vehicle	that	you	list,	give	the	year/make/model	of	the	vehicle,	the	license	plate	number	and	state,	the	
vehicle	insurance	company	name,	policy	number,	and	the	policy's	effective	and	expiration	dates.	You	must	also	
send	a	 copy	 (not	 the	original)	 of one of	 the	 following	documents,	 for	 each	 vehicle	 listed,	 as	proof	 of	 financial	 
responsibility/insurance along with the Petition:
(1)	 A	financial	responsibility/insurance	identification	card
(2)	 A	copy	of	the	declaration	page	from	the	insurance	policy
(3)	 A	copy	of	an	application	for	insurance	to	the	Pennsylvania	Automobile	Insurance	Plan	signed	by	a	licensed		 	

 insurance agent or broker
(4)	 A	certificate	of	self-insurance	issued	by	the	Pennsylvania	Department	of	Transportation
(5)	 A	valid	binder	of	insurance	issued	by	an	insurance	agent	or	company	licensed	to	sell	motor	vehicle	liability		 	
	 insurance	in	Pennsylvania

If	you	drive	more	than	one	company-owned	vehicle,	you	only	need	to	send	one	copy	of	the	company's	financial	
responsibility/insurance	identification	card.
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4.	 SECTION D	 -	Read	 this	section	before	signing.	Once	you	have	 read	and	understand	 the	 information,	sign	your	
name	in	ink	on	the	line	provided.	Your	Petition	will	be	rejected	if	it	does	not	include	your	signature.	If	you	used	a	
Messenger	Service,	such	as	an	automobile	club	or	notary	public,	to	help	you	complete	this	form,	place	a	check	in	
the	box	provided.

 Veterans Designation: You	have	the	opportunity	 to	add	the	veterans	designation	to	your	driver's	 license,	which	
clearly	indicates	you	are	a	veteran	of	the	United	States	Armed	Forces.	To	qualify,	you	must	have	served	in	the	United	
States	Armed	Forces,	including	a	reserve	component	or	the	National	Guard,	and	have	been	discharged	or	released	
from	such	service	under	conditions	other	than	dishonorable.	If	you	are	requesting	to	add	the	veterans	designation	
to	your	license,	make	sure	you	check	the	box	at	the	top	in	Section	C.

 Organ Donation Awareness Trust Fund (ODTF):	 You	 have	 the	 opportunity	 to	 contribute	 $3.00	 to	 the	 Fund.	 
The	 additional	 $3.00	 contribution	must	 be	 added	 to	 your	 payment.	 You	must	 also	 check	 the	 block	 provided	 to	 
ensure	proper	handling	of	your	contribution.	The	ODTF	provides	for	the	development	and	implementation	of	donor	 
awareness	programs	and	funds	shall	be	appropriated	subject	to	the	approval	of	the	Governor.	

 Veterans' Trust Fund (VTF):	You	 have	 the	 opportunity	 to	make	 a	 tax	 deductible	 contribution	 to	 the	VTF.	Your	 
contribution	 will	 help	 support	 programs	 and	 projects	 for	 Pennsylvania	 veterans	 and	 their	 families.	 Since	 this	 
additional	$5.00	 is	not	part	of	 the	 fee,	please	add	 the	donated	amount	 to	your	payment.	Also,	please	check	 the	
proper	block	on	the	form	to	make	sure	your	contribution	is	handled	properly.

5.	 Once	you	have	completed	the	Petition,	review	the	Checklist	at	the	end	of	form	to	calculate	the	total	dollar	amount	
you	must	send.	Before	a	Probationary	License	can	be	issued	all	fines,	court	costs	and	restoration	fees	must	be	paid.		

The	Department	will	 inform	you	 in	writing	within	30	days	of	 receiving	your	Petition	whether	or	not	 you	qualify	 for	a	 
Probationary	License.	 If	we	determine	that	you	meet	 the	 initial	criteria	 for	a	Probationary	License,	you	will	be	scheduled	
for	 a	 Departmental	 Review	 Session.	 Applicants	 may	 request	 additional	 hours	 at	 this	 session.	 Documentation	 to	 
support	the	need	for	additional	hours	should	be	presented	at	this	time.		Following	the	interview	and	the	completion	of	
any	required	testing,	the	Department	will	make	a	recommendation	regarding	issuance	of	your	Probationary	License.

If	you	have	any	questions,	please	write	to	the	PA	Department	of	Transportation,	Bureau	of	Driver	Licensing,	OLL/PL	Unit,	
P.O.	Box	68689,	Harrisburg	Pa	17106-8689.	In	order	to	provide	an	immediate	response,	please	include	your	daytime	
telephone number.

PROVISIONS OF SECTION 3709 OF THE VEHICLE CODE
Section	3709	provides	for	a	fine	of	up	to	$300	for	dropping,	throwing	or	depositing,	upon	any	highway,	or	upon	any	other	public	or	private	property	without	
the	consent	of	the	owner	thereof	or	into	or	on	the	waters	of	this	Commonwealth,	from	a	vehicle,	any	waste	paper,	sweepings,	ashes,	household	waste,	
glass,	metal,	refuse	or	rubbish	or	any	dangerous	or	detrimental	substance,	or	permitting	any	of	the	preceding	without	immediately	removing	such	items	or	
causing	their	removal.
For	any	violation	of	Section	3709,	I	may	be	subject	to	a	fine	of	up	to	$300	upon	conviction,	including	any	violation	resulting	from	the	conduct	of	any	other	
persons	present	within	any	vehicle	of	which	I	am	the	driver.
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SEND BY CERTIFIED MAIL TO:

PA Department of Transportation
Bureau of Driver Licensing
OLL/PL Unit
P.O. Box 68689
Harrisburg, PA 17106-8689

CHECKLIST

Did you remember to include the following fees on your check or money order?

1. ❏	 Restoration	Fee	(Required)		

2. ❏	 $160.50	Application	Fee	(Required)	includes:

   l	 $43.00	PL	Petition	Fee	(non-refundable)	

  l	 $96.00	Processing	Fee,	$6.00	License	Fee,	and	$15.50	Photo	Fee	

3. ❏	 $3.00	voluntary	contribution	to	the	Organ	Donation	Awareness	Trust	Fund	(optional)

4. ❏	 $5.00	voluntary	contribution	to	the	Veterans'	Trust	Fund	(optional)

5. ❏	 Submit	Proof	of	Insurance	for all vehicles	listed	on	this	Petition	(Required)

6. ❏	 $	__________________	TOTAL AMOUNT DUE WITH PETITION

(THIS FORM MUST BE MAILED 
IN, DO NOT BRING TO DRIVER 
LICENSE CENTER)
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