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I no longer have a Pennsylvania driver’s license but I need a photo ID, how do I obtain one? 
If you are a Pennsylvania driver and would like to receive a non-driver photo ID card, complete Form DL-54A, 
“Application for Initial Photo Identification Card.” The photo ID card clearly indicates that it is not a driver’s license and 
is valid for a period of four years. 
For photo ID card fees, refer to the “Driver Licensing Fee Chart Fact Sheet,” found on our website at   
www.dmv.pa.gov.    

NOTE: The initial photo ID is available free to drivers who are required by PennDOT to surrender their driver’s license 
or medical reasons or those who voluntarily surrender their driver’s license for health reasons.   

How to obtain an original Pennsylvania birth certificate? 
Visit http://www.health.pa.gov/MyRecords/Certificates/ for more information. 

What are the location and times to get my picture taken? 
Visit www.dmv.pa.gov and click on “Find a PennDOT Near You”. Enter your zip code or county and choose “Photo for 
your Driver’s License/ID card” and click search. A list of locations closest to you and their hours of operation will be 
provided. Please remember, you must bring your camera card along with you to the Photo Center. 

I would like to report someone that I feel is unsafe to drive. What do I need to do? 
You may send a detailed letter regarding your observations and, if known, the driver’s specific medical condition(s) to 
PennDOT. The letter must also include your name and contact information. PennDOT does not accept anonymous 
reports. Once received, PennDOT will investigate the report and may require that the driver take a medical or driver’s 
exam, or both. This letter can be mailed to: Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, P.O. Box 68682, Harrisburg, PA 
17106-8682. 

How do I change my address? 
Pennsylvania requires you to report your new address to the Department of Transportation (PennDOT) within 15 days 
of moving. Remember to change your address on your license and vehicle registration, if applicable. It’s easy to do. Just 
visit our website at www.dmv.pa.gov to change your address online or fill out form MV-63, Change of Address and 
return to PennDOT using this address: Pennsylvania Department of Transportation, Bureau of Motor Vehicles, P.O. Box 
68287, Harrisburg, PA 17106-8287. 

I moved here from out of state. How do I transfer my driver license?  
You must appear at a Driver License Center with your valid out-of-state driver’s license, social security card, (for a list of 
acceptable and required proof of identification-see PUB 195US/PUB 195NC), two proofs of residency (see acceptable 
list for residency proof), and your check or money order for the appropriate fees.   

I am over 65 and do not wish to renew my license for the full 4 years. Is there another option? 
Pennsylvania’s driver licensing period is four years, expiring the day after your birthday. However, persons 65 years of 
age and older have the option of obtaining a two-year license. 
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How do I obtain a handicap placard? 
In order to obtain a Person with Disability Parking placard, Form MV-145A, “Person with Disability Parking Placard 
Application” must be completed by the person with a disability, and a healthcare provider or a police officer, and 
returned to PennDOT. Healthcare providers may only certify disabilities within their scope of practice, and must be 
licensed or certified in PA or a contiguous state; New York, New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, West Virginia or Ohio. 
Police officers may only certify disability codes (1) and (4). The applicant must have his/her signature notarized on the 
application. For more information please reference the Person with Disability/Severely Disabled Veteran Parking Placard 
Fact Sheet.  

 

I am 55 or older. Are there any avenues available that may reduce the cost of my vehicle insurance?   
Under Pennsylvania Law, drivers 55 and older are eligible to receive a 5 percent discount on their vehicle insurance by 
completing an approved Mature Driver Improvement Course. In order to maintain the discount, individuals would have 
to take the refresher Mature Driver Improvement Course every three years. Individuals should check with their 
insurance carrier for specifics of their program. Contact the following organizations to check fees and availability: 

 

AAA – check local offices for availability     www.aaa.com            

AARP – 1-888-227-7669     www.aarp.org 

Adept Driver – 1-855-839-9090     www.lifelongdriver.com/pamaturedriver 

Defensive Driving by Improv – 1-800-660-8909     www.myimprov.com/defensive-driving/pennsylvania 

National Safety Council – 1-800-775-1484     www.nsc.org/ddc/pa/maturedriver 

Safe 2 Drive – 1-800-763-1297     www.safe2drive.com/pennsylvania.aspx or email: support@safe2drive.com 

Senior Driving Discount of America – 1-888-541-5576     www.seniordrivingdiscount.com/state/pa 

Seniors for Safe Driving – 1-800-559-4880     www.seniorsforsafedriving.com 

 
How do I obtain a Retired Person’s Vehicle Registration?  

If you are retired and receiving Social Security or other pension income and your total annual income from all sources is 
$19,200 or less, you qualify to register your passenger vehicle or light truck (9,000 pounds or less) for a $10 processing 
fee per year instead of the registration fee. For a complete listing of all motor vehicle fees, please refer to Form MV-
70S, “Bureau of Motor Vehicles Schedule of Fees.” The discount does not apply to title fees, transfer fees or sales tax.  

 
Under this plan, you may register only one passenger vehicle or truck that you own for the $10 processing fee, and you 
should be the principal driver of the vehicle, unless a physical or mental disability exists that makes you incapable of 
driving.  
 
NOTE: When a vehicle is titled in two names, only the income of the retired person applying needs to be listed on Form 
MV-371, “Application for a Retired Person’s $10 Processing Fee on a Vehicle Registration,” to qualify unless you have a 
medical condition that disqualifies you from driving. 
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